30 finalists announced for ‘the churchie’ 2017

‘the churchie’ Committee and QUT Art Museum are pleased to announce the finalists for the 30th annual the churchie national emerging art prize. From over 900 artworks submitted 30 emerging artists have been selected to exhibit in the much anticipated finalists’ exhibition.

The 2017 Finalists are:

  1. Abdul-Rahman Abdullah (WA)
  2. Kim Ah Sam (QLD)
  3. Gunjan Aylawadi (NSW)
  4. Alexander Beech (NSW)
  5. Georgina Cue (VIC)
  6. Farnaz Dadfar (VIC)
  7. Liss Fenwick (VIC)
  8. Graziela Guardino (NSW)
  9. Sam Holt (NSW)
  10. Anna Horne (SA)
  11. Beverley Iles (WA)
  12. Joy Ivill (NSW)
  13. Christine Ko (QLD)
  14. Amber Koroluk-Stephenson (TAS)
  15. Louis Lim (QLD)
  16. Rebecca Marshall (VIC)
  17. Merete Megarrity (QLD)
  18. Hayley Millar-Baker (VIC)
  19. Olivia Moroney (TAS)
  20. Pierre Mukeba (SA)
  21. Yuria Okamura (VIC)
  22. Hannah Quinlivan (ACT)
  23. Anna Louise Richardson (WA)
  24. Claire Robertson (VIC)
  25. Aaron Robinson (VIC)
  26. Alexandra Standen (NSW)
  27. Anne Stevens (SA)
  28. Adam Stone (VIC)
  29. Cyrus Tang (VIC)
  30. Hannah Toohey (NSW)

The 2017 pre-selection panel consisted of QUT Art Museum Curator Kevin Wilson, Assistant Curator of International Art at QAGOMA, Abigail Bernal and Vicky Leighton, Head of Art at Churchie.

“The notion of emergence is a strong theme in the work put forward for ‘the churchie’ this year” says Vicky Leighton. “Artists explore concepts of self and art practice; the art market and patronage; the significance of art making and the idea of art as subject matter. Artists are continuing to provoke by challenging perceptions of what is contemporary, and by defining new realities. ‘the churchie’ provides insight into emerging trends and is an important element in the establishment of new ideas”.

The 2017 prize winners will be determined by guest judges Aileen Burns and Johan Lundh, Executive Directors at the Institute of Modern Art (IMA), Brisbane. The Major Prize and three Commendations will be announced at the official opening of the exhibition, open to the public, at QUT Art Museum on Saturday 11 November 5-7 pm. The exhibition will remain open until the 17 December and will feature artworks from each of the 30 finalists.

The overall prize winner will be awarded a $15,000 non-acquisitive cash prize sponsored by long-time supporters of ‘the churchie’, Brand + Slater Architects, along with Two Commendation Prizes of $1,000 each (sponsored by Madison Cleaning and Painting Services) and a new Special Commendation Prize of $5,000 (sponsored by NK Orthodontist).

Image: 2016 Finalist Meagan Streader, Response IV (Partition) 2016, electroluminescent wire, 270 x 465 x 300 cm, Courtesy of the artist.

2023-01-25T12:45:53+10:0024 August 2017|

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Go to Top